BSNM Champions

Who can be a BSNM Champion?

Anyone working or studying within the field of nanomedicine can become a BSNM Champion subject to approval by the board of trustees. Champions can range from early career researchers such as PhD students and Post-Docs to PIs at all levels including lecturers and professors.

What does a BSNM Champion do?

As the society grows and develops champions are invited to participate in a number of activities to help facilitate these changes. In addition, the Champions act as a local ambassador for the society by:

  • Acting as a local point of contact for cascading information to members: eg. forwarding emails on forthcoming society meetings.
  • Further promoting the society, for example via their own social media platforms (twitter; linkedIn etc).
  • Supporting and being involved in society related outreach activities and public engagement.

What are the benefits of becoming a BSNM Champion?

As part of their role, BSNM champions are offered first refusal on a number of reserved speaking slots at both in-person and virtual ECRMs. Champions are also offered the opportunity to Chair these events providing a rare and unique experience for many of our early career champions.

Champions are also promoted on our website with plans in place for further promotion via featured slots in our planned news letter.

How do I become a BSNM Champion?

If you’re interested in becoming a champion get in touch via our Contact Form or by emailing us at Please include your name, affiliation and a few sentences about your research.

Meet the BSNM Champions

Shazwan Abd Shukor
Shazwan Abd ShukorInstitute of Pharmaceutical Science, King's College London and Biotechnology & Nanotechnology Research Centre and Malaysian Agriculture Research & Development Institute (MARDI)
Dr Peter Smyth
Dr Peter SmythQueen’s University Belfast
Ashwin Prabhughate
Ashwin PrabhughateDivision of Surgery, University College London (UCL), London, UK
Dr Naveed Akbar
Dr Naveed Akbar University of Oxford
Jasmin Wilson
Jasmin WilsonKing’s College London
Azziza Zaabalawi
Azziza ZaabalawiManchester Metropolitan University
Joel Crane
Joel CraneSwansea University
Sofía Mirón-Barroso
Sofía Mirón-Barroso Imperial College London
Mazna Almatroudi
Mazna AlmatroudiUniversity College London
Dr Eeshani Bendale
Dr Eeshani Bendale University of Oxford
Khadeejah Maeyouf
Khadeejah Maeyouf University of Strathclyde
Nazim Uddin
Nazim UddinScancell Ltd
Sean Doidge
Sean DoidgeLondon South Bank University
Dr Aadarsh Mishra
Dr Aadarsh MishraUniversity of Oxford